## **Local political and administrative outline**

**77 Districts** (Jilla)

6 Metropolitan Cities (Mahanagarpalika)

11 Sub-Metropolitan Cities (Upa-Nagarpalika)

**276 Municipalities** (Nagarpalika)

**460 Rural Municipalities** (Gaunpalika)

**6,742 Wards** (5-33 per local unit)

## **District Coordination Committee**

(9 members chosen by the District Assembly from among the members of the (Rural) Municipal Assemblies of the district)

## **District Assembly**

(all mayors/deputy mayors respectively chairs/deputy chairs of the district)

## Gaunpalika/Nagarpalika Executive

(Chair/Mayor, Deputy Chair/Mayor and the Ward chairpersons, plus 4 women and 2 persons from Dalit or minority groups that are elected by the Gaunpalika/Nagarpalika Assembly from amongst themselves)

(Rural) Municipal Assembly (all elected ward members)

From each ward, voters elect four general members and a chairperson (altogether 6,742 ward chairs and 26,790 ward members) as well as the mayor and deputy mayor of the Municipality respectively chair and deputy chair of the Rural Municipality